Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Prickly

Well it couldn't last, could it. On Friday afternoon after full IT connectivity had been restored, I updated the servers with all the drawings I had been working on so that everybody has access to the most recent amendments. I also updated all the information in my task-list and then deleted the duplicate copies of those same drawings from my personal cloud.

Because I knew that the servers are a bit slow to respond, and having a live screen-sharing appointment with Tam in Glasgow scheduled for 9am on Monday to discuss five separate HWRCs (Household Waste Recycling Centres) which most of you will know as the local place where you can drive into (as long as you present your Council Tax bill) to offload all the crap you no longer care to have cluttering up your home. I also downloaded the relevant drawings of those facilities to my personal cloud on a just-in-case basis.

Glad I did, because exactly as I had feared, all the wonderful connectivity that had flashed before my eyes on Friday, had drowned in quicksand by Monday.

Happily, my recycle bin (how funny is that!) still contained most of the other stuff I had been working on last week, so that gave me something to fiddle about with before the call came in from Tam.

A nice productive day. The live interface with Tam lasted 80 minutes. Ten minutes into that my mobile rang and I blanked it. I suspect the call probably came from IT support. I hoped they would get back to me, but even after a prod they didn't.

Yes it's awfully frustrating, but my team has managed to find ways to assist the mermaid in the egg-and-spoon race, and that is preferable to failing to respond to a client's needs. This is a time when front-line waste management & fire service people really need to have their safety drawings on point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.