Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Tales from the riverbank

Today's walk took me South to Jackson's Field where I saw happy young families out together with dogs and balls. Lovely! Past the wheelpark where 3 lads on BMX bikes turned hostile, accusing me of photographing a baby in a buggy.
Up through Fort Pitt and gently back down through Victoria Gardens.
And then suddenly I took it into my head to begin exploring streets I have never ventured along before. I wasn't all that far into Boundary Road before I got the distinct feeling I had entered another world. The ambience was smouldering, threatening, suspicious and hostile again.
I'll take the next left I thought, rather than turn back.
The next left is a great distance, and Grosvenor Ave is not quite as delightful as its name might suggest (see extra – not derelict – inhabited).
It was a great relief to turn left again into Ordnance Street which has delightful, well-kept terraced houses, and then back down to the familiar territory of the railway station.
I had had my hour and considered returning to the flat but in 45 minutes Sainsbury's would be closed so I decided to join the queue on the off-chance of a big fat comforting sweet potato.
I noticed that Wickes is closed, unsurprisingly.
No comfort at Sainsbury's but Wilko was still open so I popped in there for some laundry-juice. Wilko also sells paint, as does B&M, which is also permitted to remain open because it sells some foods. 

I feel awfully sorry for Wickes, losing its business to the likes of Wilko and B&M. Poundland is also permitted to remain open, selling its full range, while Ryman is not. I really hope that this emergency does not continue for so long that the quality shops all go to the wall and we are left with only a choice of cheap or utter crap.

Home again and I decided to experiment. Can I really use my favourite drawing software to turn five photographs into a panorama? Seems I can! Yes there are visible seams which graphics software would have eliminated, but I feel that this has an honesty about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.