Memoirs

Monday.

I had been in a bit of a rage first thing about the lack of integrity shown by a certain high profile and highly paid civil servant, culminating in her resignation last night - no doubt after negotiating a chunky severance package. 

Luckily, the Boss arrived here about 9.30am to dump a pile of new cases on me. We discussed the person concerned for a while, and another currently topical piece of idiocy from someone who is paid to do much, much better.

The end result was we both got it out of our system, and set about our daily tasks. I suppose the discussion took place outside my front door, with 2 meters between us, so the neighbours now have all the hot political gossip. I am past caring. 

I have started 35 new cases in the last 5 working days, all on Covid 19. That is about double the normal rate. I have more on my desk "pending" as well. A couple are about how Covid 19 is caused by 5G mobile phone masts, so I will have a bit of fun with those. 

Ah yes, the Blip. Since the library and local bookshop are closed, books to read have become more of a problem than toilet paper or pasta. Remember, Amazon is on the boycott list since my son worked there. I think I have found a solution, but meantime old books are being dug out.

They often bring back memories when an old ticket or other piece of paper falls out, having been used as a bookmark 25 years ago. The one which fell out of Gorbachev's Memoirs is a puzzle. London to Vilnius with Lithuanian Airlines. We very rarely went there via Heathrow because I hate the place. We always tried to go via Copenhagen with SAS. 

I always enjoyed flying with Lithuanian Airlines however. They went bust about 10 years ago. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.