Henries

By nudibranchies

Tiny Homes

While it may not necessarily be "structure" for my day, I've found a new love on YouTube in the form of alternative homes: tiny houses, earthships, homes built around permaculture principles, van homes but my current favourite is Icelandic turf houses. While I have absolutely no money or understanding of building permits or anything like that, I'm entertaining myself with the idea that one day I'll be able to make a few turf houses and set up a nice little permaculture garden to support myself and be as offgrid as possible. It's not anything extravagant, but I'm reminded now more than ever how difficult living in a city is and how hard it is to minimise my own carbon and plastic footprint when all I can buy is wrapped up and imported.

Aside from these videos, I've been working to "fix" a bag I printed on my course. It overprinted quite spectacularly as the fabric soaked up the screenprinting ink, and until now it's been relegated to the top of my wardrobe so I didn't need to look at it. Rather than leave it there, I thought I may as well embroider where the lines should have been - I've made good progress considering how thick the fabric is and I'm going to go over the teeth and eye tomorrow! 

I got a bit experimental for dinner, made a sausage and egg bake that included not-cheese and a whole lot of pasta and broccoli. It turned out very nice and the fact I did more than put some pasta in a pan made the day feel a little more meaningful. I'm coping slightly better with the isolation and being indoors all the time, though every time it gets dark and even quieter outside it's a bizarre feeling. I can see the banking buildings in Canary Warf from the path by my flat, and if I go out for fresh air I can look at them and know almost certainly that they're totally and utterly empty. It's weird. Also I had a dream about dinosaurs invading Paddington and dream-me got upset because I couldn't hand in my portfolio. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.