Earache MyEyeInA Nutshell

By RichPaula

Can you put Demis Roussos on?

To the Theatre Royal in Nottingham to see a touring production of Abigail's Party.
I must admit I had my reservations given the superb performances given by the original Hampstead Theatre cast which was luckily filmed by the BBC. No matter, I think the actors must have been told to make the parts their own, and when you realise that, then you can just enjoy it for what it is - completely brilliant. The script, 'devised' by Mike Leigh, is superb.
The stage set, as you can see, is incredibly evocative of the mid-late 1970s. I defy anyone not to pick out at least three things that weren't in their own homes in 1977. For me they would be the cocktail cabinet, the Hornsea pottery, the party favour dishes and the glass ashtrays.
Now, would you like a little cheesy pineapple one? Or a little top up? Maybe you'd like a crisp? A peanut? One of Lawrence's olives? Please excuse me while I just pop this bottle of Beaujolais in the fridge...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.