BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - 16

Imprisonment - Day sixteen
Monday 6th April 2020
Cycling Statistics
Cars - 16
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 0
Dog walkers - 0
Walkers - 5
Runners - 1
Horses - 1
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 10.0c
Well I did it. I was up at 6.45am and off cycling at seven. On the way out I saw Kate the lady who keeps her sheep on our small fields. She has nearly finished lambing and only has two ewes left to go. My front tyre was still firm this morning so it must have been as I thought dirt stuck in the valve.
When I returned home I'd got an email from Rachel saying her rear tyre was now flat so I asked her to leave it by the gate again.
This morning I jet washed under the wheel arches of the old Bentley  to get them clean ready for undersealing. I then washed Ros' car not because it needed washing as she's only used it twice in the past two weeks but because I usually clean it on a Monday and it seemed the right thing to do. Afterwards I mowed the lawn and used a treking app on my phone to see what distance I cover when mowing. Interestingly? It was 1.46 miles at a speed of 1.20 miles per hour and it took an hour and ten minutes. The app can't give fuel consumption but the mower usually uses about two gallons of petrol which means it does 0.73 miles to the gallon. Makes the old Bentley seem very frugal by comparison.
I then just about managed to Flymo the banks as the Flymo kept cutting out. I need to strip the carburettor down again as the air intake gets full of dust even with my air filter modifications.
Rachel's puncture was easily fixed and was caused by the top of one of the rear spokes which had somehow pinched and made a small split in the inner tube but too large for the Goop to take effect. I put some Duct tape round the rim to protect the inner tube in future.
Carrying on with my varied day I cleaned the engine of the old Bentley by blowing the dirt off with heating oil and compressed air and then took all the wheels off and coated the underside of the wings with Aquatan Rust Treatment that my Dad used to use on his narrowboat. It's a commercial type of Cure Rust which bonds to rusty sufaces. The Aquatan is water soluble and I found it was best applied with a sponge as it ran down my arm when I tried using a brush.
It was great to have varied tasks today and tomorrow as I'm waiting for the underseal to arrive I think I will start filling and rubbing down the bodywork.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.