Gentian

Lots of things are strange at the moment.  When I head out for my daily walk, I have to join the main road up to the parkland estate.  These days I do a quick left and right as if I am in a car, checking for folks coming up and down, gauging how far away they are before making the decision to hold back or pull out and merge!  No one was on the hill today and, in fact, I didn't see anyone else until I was about to make the descent to our street.

I have to say that my coping strategies work better some days than others.  I have deliberately cut down on my exposure to the news and I limit what I look at on FB.  A post from a friend jumped out at me this morning which did me no good at all, so I shan't be looking at my feed from now on.    I'm better if I keep busy so it has been another day of jobs:  walking;  scanning some photos for the Family Album; washing flower pots; practising my recorder; a few pieces of jigsaw with my cuppa; blipping flowers in the garden.  I suppose the big event of the day was the explosion of the lawn mower.  It has been rattling dreadfully the last couple of times I used it and today it had a serious shake.  I just had a couple of square metres of the neighbour's grass to finish when it made a bang and the rotor bit fell off!  Is a new lawn mower an essential item?  It certainly does my peace of mind a heap of good cutting the grass!

I have been watching the emergence of the gentian on the rockery on a daily basis.  The first flower curled up and died before emerging so I'm really pleased about this one.  When I bought it, Tony told me they prefer chalk habitat so he fashioned a gentian enclave at the bottom corner of the rockery for me.  It is such a stunning colour.

Keep well and safe Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.