Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Long Road

I left home with a light snow flakes falling from the sky but they disappeared as I hit the motorway. The traffic was intense but flowed without a hitch. My ubiquitous stop off on on the M6 toll road gave the dogs a run, me a coffee and the inside of the car rather more snow than I'd have wanted. Maera picks up the white stuff, which balls instantly in her shaggy coat. I remove as much as I can but, there is always a severe puddle to deal with after a while.

I was fairly smug when I rang my sister and said the roads were totally clear of anything but intense Friday traffic... until I crossed the Welcome to Scotland sign. Instantly a blizzard appeared. This was the view of the road shortly after. The road became one slow moving lane only minutes after and continued, in more but never lesser degrees until I had a few miles of unfrozen driving through Glasgow. ( No, I wasn't holding the camera whilst driving. The camera is mounted and I click a remote. Sometimes shots focus, sometimes not. ) There was another really bad patch of road, east of Stirling and very slow going from there to Dundee. Most of the Scottish stretch was done at a maximum of 50 miles an hour. It's a record! I've never done it slower.
I was lucky. Had I left Surrey only half an hour later, I would probably been one of those who spent the night in their cars on the M6.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.