Love A Lone Duckling

Much quacking as we approached the lake this morning. I then spotted a mallard pair with just one duckling. :( We walk around the lake two or three times a day and this the first duckling I have seen this year. Mallards usually have broods of about twelve. I suppose it's possible that she had only one. It's more likely that Reynard, Brock, Jack heron, coots or crows have taken her eggs or ducklings. Mallard drakes will kill ducklings too. Six unpaired males hang out on the lake like a group of troublesome teenagers. I've added three of them to extras. 

I got images of a Cessna 404 Titan which repeatedly flew over here and have checked it out on Flightradar24. It is a reconnaissance aircraft. I wonder what it was observing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.