Hot mess

Being around Gugs in lockdown is ultimately a healthy thing for the balance it will bring, but seeing the ease with which she moves through her day highlights to me that I’ve been in somewhat of a rut for quite a long time. I tend to follow patterns that will exacerbate stress, and it’s not easy to snap out of these when you realise various aspects of life need tackling simultaneously. I think this was all pretty much true before the greater challenges of coronavirus limbo were thrown upon us. In general, in life I think I’m a bit of a hot mess which has been made messier by the uncertainty of the coronavirus situation.

I went for a short evening walk as the light wasn’t as enchanting as it has been. I spotted a colleague, Josh, at the supermarket, and shouted hello (from around 3 metres away). He was taken aback as he’d had no face to face interaction with anyone for three weeks. We talked briefly before we felt too sheepish chitchatting in public.

My dad’s cousin Brian has sadly died in Devon due to coronavirus, which compounded his existing issues and he didn’t survive. With nearly 1,000 deaths per day at the moment, I think many of us will have these losses hitting close to home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.