Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Bromeliad flower

Over to Peter and Claire's this morning for a coffee as Claire makes a mighty fine cuppa. Took a couple of photos of Claire and her baby bump but hopefully will be able to repeat the exercise tomorrow morning and get the lighting better. They had a couple of chores to do and I joined them and was delighted to see my first Splendid Wren while we were out (thanks Peter for spotting it). Of course I was too slow changing the lens on the camera for a shot but hopefully I will have another chance one day.

In the afternoon I took another drive to Busselton, this time to do some shopping for the couple rather than to take some photographs. Late in the afternoon and still no photo for todays blip so I took one of this flower...I really don't want to miss a day this early in the year.

My uncle Peter described the structure of this flower to me recently...apparently the pink parts are the bracts and the actual flowers are the small purple structures. The soft pink belies the actual hard, prickliness of the bracts as I soon found out when I tried to remove a eucalyptus leaf from amongst them. (I suggest it is viewed large.)

Back to watching the Australian Open Tennis final for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.