Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Australian Ringneck (Barnardius zonarius)

I didn't have to venture too far today to get some nice photos of birds. I managed to get the Red Wattle Bird that is still to make the blipbigyear list, but with it's dark hard facing into the shade it looked as though it didn't have any eyes. Hopefully he will visit again soon and look into the sun.

In the late afternoon this Australian Ringneck (Barnardius zonarius) subspecies semitorquatos decided he would spend some time overlooking the garden. I think he was actually settling in for the evening but with me making a few squeaking noises I aroused him enough to open his eye and check me out. The distinguishing features of this subspecies is the distinct red patch above the bill, an all green underbelly (rather than green and yellow), darker on the breast and lighter on the underbelly.

It's been a quiet day. Peter and Max called over with a surprise for me...a hand push lawn mower. Max was quite excited to give it to me. Peter kindly assembled it and then carried it to my little handkerchief sized piece of lawn and encouraged me to have a go. It is perfect. The lawn is a very soft couch and the mower has no trouble cutting it. I'm hoping that by being able to do it regularly it might encourage it to thicken up. Max had been ill in the morning but was in good spirits when I saw him. Pete has fingers crossed that it is not contagious as he doesn't want Claire to be ill with this baby being due.

So everyone who was guessing when the baby would arrive is wrong. Peter thought he/she might arrive on the day they were moving house (that would be 8 days prem), Claire's mum thought Friday as that would have been 3 days prem which is what Max was, I hoped 27th as that is my lucky number (Tara and Tom both born on the 27th ...June and July respectively). Four weeks ago the doctor was saying it could arrive any moment. Anyway it will happen. Pleased to hear that Tom is catching the bus down from Perth and will drive back together whenever. Tom is a chef...lucky me...I expect some yummy meals coming my way.

Ok...enough from me...Sunset calling.

Back from sunset and moonrise photo shoot. Called into the Margaret River Tavern for dinner as it was a little late to think about cooking something. That was a bit of a hoot. It happened to be karaoke night. Not many patrons and even less participants. There is no way I would get up and sing in a public place. I think it is great that these people had the confidence to do so...none could sing in tune, but that is not what it was about. It's about having a go and enjoying yourself and they were certainly doing that.

Once again...that's enough from me...bed calling this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.