Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

Another book

One I finished a while ago but I still have it because the libraries are still closed. Today we had another online coffee meeting. Next week I'll probably do some chores at the library for one morning and one afternoon. By own request.

The book I read is "The great believers" by Rebecca Makkai. It got 5 out of 5 stars from me.

My review:
A great read! Not an uplifting read though. Be warned. If you're already feeling down, this is not the book to read.

Of course I know about the Aids epidemic. I knew one person who died. But I wasn't very much aware of the impact it had. I'm not familiar with the gay scene either. So this book was interesting not only because it's about the Aids epidemic, but it's also about the gay scene in Chicago in the 1980's.

It has an intense feel of loss. A life of every day losses. Like war. But a different kind of war.

It has two story lines. The one set in 2015 has short chapters and are complimentary to the ones in 1985-1992. A very good way to portray what happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.