karisfitch

By karisfitch

Learning to accept love

Luke 12:37 says

“Truly I tell you, he will dress himself to serve, will have them recline at the table and will come and wait on them.”

It seems so upside down. John the Baptist said that he was not worthy to untie the sandals of Jesus. Yet here Jesus is, serving us. Can I accept that? I feel guilty accepting love that I have not earned.

Today I received a letter, and my instinct was the same. To feel like I don’t deserve this act of love. But God is teaching me that love is not earned. He wants us to receive it. Not just to give it away again - love is not transactional. To keep it, and to share it. And when I share it, it’s like the 5 loaves - it multiplies.

Gratefuls:

1. That God named me the Greek for “grace”. He knew I would need a reminder that I could never ignore.
2. The enjoyment and fulfilment that is available from helping people.
3. Laura. She is the warmth that I needed, and I so appreciate the depth she brings to conversations. And that we can laugh together.
4. Phone calls with my grandparents. Staying on the phone after saying goodbye, so I could still hear their voices afterwards.
5. Safety. I don’t have to worry about my family having food on the table, or about being attacked, and I’ve never had to worry about that. May I never take that for granted.
6. Pears! I love them so much.
7. This time, where there aren’t the constant pressures of looming exams.
8. This letter and the person who sent it, for showing me what it looks like to be really cared about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.