Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Continued From Yesterday

This is drawing of the second 3D printed sample. This is not my design by the way, but I am merely tweaking the frame so that we can print them faster. Plus make them stronger lighter and more comfortable to wear. And in this case the original frame has to be measured up line for line and curve for curve (my gcse in technical drawing came in handy here!). My first effort came out quite well except that the lugs that stick out where slightly mis-placed. The lugs need to be in the right place do that the holes in the acetate sheets can hook on without damaging the frame/sheet (already snapped the arm off one frame, dang!). On wards and up. By the end of today there were 3 prototypes. I feel there'll be many more before we start knocking them off and ultimately handing them out for free. VERY exciting stuff indeed.

In the extras, the frame on the right is the original (excellent design) and the one on the LHS is my adapted effort: holes for ventilation, lightness, strength and faster printing. Shorter hooks for faster printing again. And the brow part on mine is 5mm longer for the doctor or nurse with the bigger nose (I am as good as it comes in the big nose area for testing such prototypes!) Print time is halved to 1hr 25min. Aces!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.