Drying Out

Stretched on the rack, or rather on my Shetland woolly horse is one of my favourite jumpers.I find the stretcher indispensable now that I have it, preventing as it does pure wool jumpers from shrinking after washing.

When I left the Dower House this morning at 10am for my daily exercise, it was ‘feeling like 3°’ and Arthur Seat was hidden behind a damp haar. It was galling to be told by the broadcasters that it was to be a hot sunny Good Friday.
However by the time I had walked down to Holyrood the sun was trying to appear from behind the clouds and the temperature was rising. First the hat came off, then the gloves and lastly the scarf, as I tramped up Holyrood Park. Now at 3pm it is a heady13°, bright but no sun.

In retrospect, Holyrood Park was not a good choice for my walk. Despite the early hour there were joggers out and about and a great many cyclists testing their stamina by doing road circuits of the hill. It was quite a different feel from yesterday’s lone walk through Princes Street Gardens.
The other thing I noticed was the busyness on the roads. At times it didn’t seem any different from an ordinary traffic day. I do wonder where all the cars were heading for given we have been exhorted not to travel and that there are vigilantes protecting all the local beauty spots.
It appears there are people who still believe the rules don’t apply to them and so are jeopardising the ability of NHS doctors and nurses to give us proper care should everyone fall ill at once .

Having guarded a bottle of Edinburgh Gin (rhubarb and ginger since you ask) since Mother’s Day, I finally gave in and opened it. Not having any tonic water in the house I have discovered it gives Ribena (bought in case I was laid low by the virus and needed hot comforting drinks of black currant) quite an acceptable kick.

I raise my glass of cheeky Ribena to you and wish you all as Happy Easter as possible under lockdown.

my illustrated walk is in the extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.