Lignum Vitae - Tree of Life

'Blue/Purple Flower Time' is beginning here in North Central Florida. Our 'Yellow Flower Time' is waning and the different blue shades are becoming prominent. This is the flower of the Lignum Vitae, Guaiacum sanctum, a very slow growing tree native to Florida, the West Indies, Mexico and Central America, in fact it is the national tree of the Bahamas! It produces a beautiful bright yellow fruit with a striking red elongated seed within. When a Lignum Vitae tree is in full flower with these showing seed pods all over it, that's truly a sight to see! The wood of a Lignum Vitae is extremely dense and therefore resistant to insects and decay. It was used in boat building for parts of the rigging that needed strength and durability. The world's first nuclear-powered submarine, has it's aft main shaft strut bearings made of this wood! And since Lignum Vitae contains natural oils those bearing are 'self-lubricating'. However, it's wood is so dense that it won't float.
I have two small trees in pots. they came with me from Miami 14 years ago, as seeds from a tree growing happily in our back yard there. The tree was nearly destroyed by Hurricane Andrew back in 1992 but was able to survive and produce fruit. My two small trees must over-winter in our greenhouse because our winters here in Gainesville are just too 'harsh' for them.  As you may have noticed, I have great respect and love for the Lignum Vitae. That's why I chose it to help me celebrate my 2500 blips! When (and if) my little trees produce fruit and seeds, I'll try to share photos of them with you as well. Thanks to BikerBear for hosting FlowerFriday!
Each day is a gift! Stay healthy! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.