Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Peaceful beach - backblip

I've read everything relevant in the Govt guidelines.  A lot of the guidelines seem to be being enhanced by a strange sort of 'Chinese Whispers' by the press. The BBC news people keep saying you can exercise for 'one hour a day'.  The guidelines don't say that. They say 'one form of exercise'.  Though I can't see what would be wrong with cycling to a beach and then walking on it!

To walk 'from my home' involves steep hills up and down, leading to a narrow lane one way or narrow pavements the other. The pavements have been quite busy recently. but this beach was virtually deserted.  It seems one of the safest places to be!  The Govt have banned the use of leisure centres etc and a few public parks but totally banned the sort of playparks there there are climbing frames etc that would involve a lot of hand contact.  They have NOT banned the use of beaches for exercise.  I've read everything there is on 'driving to walk' and a person can drive 'a short distance' to find an open space.  There is no open space within walking distance of me, so I drove just 4 miles to my nearest beach.  The village had closed the car park but there were a few legal spaces outside of the car park.  The beach owners had closed the holiday park side of the beach but the smaller beach was not closed, and at low tide its big enough for a walk. I read the guidelines again today and it doesn't even say you are only allowed 'one walk a day'.  It seems that only Wales have said they will prosecute if they find people having more than one walk a day, and in the rest of the UK its not against the law - which is great for people who need to take their dogs out more than once a day.

There are also issues of mental health involved in exercise (or lack of it), so to stay healthy I need to see the sea!  And I did!  Though I have decided to avoid this beach over the Bank Holiday period as I suspect it will get too busy to be able to keep a good distance from other people. Local news has shown a few cases of police turning tourists away and sending them home.  On a day like today I would have loved to drive up to the North coast where there are bigger waves and usually a fresher breeze, but that's not a 'short distance' so I didn't.

The only thinkg spoiling this very sunny weather (apart from not being able to go far) is the amount of people having bonfires.  They spend the day with noisy hedge trimmers or worse, and the evenings burning it.  The local Council have issued a notice asking people not to have bonfires but they are still happening.  A fire engine was called out to a bonfire I could see from my window last night, but it couldn't get down the narrow lane... to attend to the fire, and seemed to go away without even a 'fireman on foot' speaking to the offenders, who kept it burning all evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.