FYI, Easter Hasn't Been Cancelled

Dear Diary,

This will be an extremely strange Easter.  Yesterday, I would have been at Good Friday services and, of course, tomorrow would be the wonderful service of Easter.  My little church in Tamworth, NH would have been all decked out with Easter lilies, tulips and daffodils.  I especially liked to see the children in their new Easter outfits and hear the beautiful Easter music.  The sanctuary would vibrate with it.  But none of that will happen this year.  I will watch the service online.  Millions around the world will do the same but I am reminded of something I read once about the Church not being a building.  It resides in the hearts of its people.  So,  Easter will happen and I will be grateful that I have enough food and a safe place to shelter.  And I will keep this in my mind, "This too shall pass"...eventually.

DAY ELEVEN: 
Perception is non-narrative.
“Narrative in art makes us think about all sorts of interesting things, but it derails the engagement with a visual experience. It asks for interpretation, so as to make meaning or sense out of what we’re looking at. Narrative seems a quick and easy diversion from the more difficult challenge of actually trying to see.” ~ Uta Barth

Can you pause a little and see what’s there before your mind created the story?
I’m not asking you to get rid of your stories, just that you suspend them for a moment. Practice what Uta Barth calls “unmotivated, undirected looking.” She asks us to eliminate theme, ditch the story, even ourselves. See for the sake of seeing.
This was my response to yesterday's practice...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.