No Jiggery-Pokery Involved.

I carry my iPhone camera in my pocket from the moment I rise to the moment I retire for the night. I am always looking for a photo opportunity.

Today’s first opportunity arose when I placed a Baccarat crystal flower vase on my placemat at the kitchen table.

The image is a square format shot looking directly into the centre of the vase. The outside shape is octagonal and the inside shape is circular. The base is smaller than the top. The reflections of the surroundings form the almost kaleidoscopic pattern. There is no digital jiggery-pokery involved.


After breakfast and my exercise outside I have been carrying out some research on Robert Lorimer who was the architect for Hill of Tarvit.


Immediately after Hill of Tarvit, he designed and worked on Ardkinglas, near Loch Fyne.


It is a helpful coincidence that the current issue of The World of Interiors has an article about Ardkinglas which was first published in the November 2007 issue.


That saved me searching through our World of Interiors Archive which has every issue.since the first one published in 1981.


I have several other books which refer to Lorimer and already I have discovered several interesting facts which do not feature in the NTS story of Hill of Tarvit.


Pat and I are looking forward to the days when normality returns.


It is now time for our late lunch meal and as Sommelier to The Household I will have to select a chilled white from our wine refrigerator, which is just a normal refrigerator sitting in the studio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.