Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Please pass WIDE and slow

It was another beautiful sunny day, but not as hot as I expected it to be, as the forecast was for 26C. I always have the same breakfast every morning (oats with a chopped up fresh fruit topping) but today in a desperate attempt to change something in the boring routine that lockdown brings, I made myself gluten free banana pancakes (just egg and mashed banana) served with berries and a dollop of dairy free coconut yogurt - yummy!

We are realising there are many more walks from our home than I first realised, so today we headed down the road into the private part of the woods off our estate that leads into a choice of routes to two nearby villages - today we chose the other route to what we normally take. We had a good walk but it was busier than usual and annoyingly there were many young children on bikes who cycle right next to you with no regard for social distancing, and their parents don't say anything or tell them to keep to the other side of the path - please pass WIDE and slow fast is what they should be told, I may have to start wearing a high vis vest like this horse rider so people can stop being so inconsiderate. We passed some friends who live in our area and she told me (from a distance) that her, her husband and her one son all have had Covid-19 and have since recovered, but she still does not have any sense of smell yet. Of course there is no record of people like this who have had the virus so those daily figures we get are all very inaccurate other than the deaths recorded in hospital, which are very high again today as expected. Another 917 hospital deaths and people ask if restrictions will be lifted yet. 

Back home we decided to do some burgers on the BBQ for lunch, and I made a caramelised red onion sauce to go with them. I also started weeding our lawn which is looking horrible, full of weeds and patches where moss is growing. I don't know how anyone gets a perfect bowling green lawn, I think it requires constant maintenance and feeding.

Another day in lockdown, I lose count of which day it is but I know there will be many more to come. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.