Check, check, check

I made Moroccan Orange and Cardamom cake today after searching the back of the cupboards to find a bag of ground almonds that was only just past it’s use by date (phew!) The cake smells divine but I haven’t eaten any yet.

The day was really very hot and humid. I sat outside but wasn’t lying in it like yesterday as it felt a tiny bit oppressive. I washed the windows at the back of the house and then some of the white paintwork (very tiring work and I’ve only done about a third of it however, I have done the most difficult grubby bits, where speckled bits of black dotty clusters were starting to form on the paint). Lots of elbow grease required and my neighbours must have heard me complaining and gasping as I stretched and got soaked with soapy water.I usually do that job once a year around May and then it doesn’t need doing again for ages.

Spoke to my brother in law on the phone and arranged a video meeting with my mum, dad and brother tomorrow evening. Everyone seems to be ok and keeping themselves busy.

I finally planted my tomato seeds (big Russian yellow beefy things), butternut squash and my very fine green bean seeds, which took about a month to get to me from France. I now have the less than envious task of preparing the land - very much dreading that as one big patch is covered in deep set weeds and brambles! I know it will be good exercise and I’m going to cut the brambles away to start.

I washed two huge wool blankets today (by hand using the bath), it took ages but I hung them up when the sun and light was much less intense and one has already dry. I’m not a big fan of fabric conditioner and tend not to use it but a well known eco brand has designed a very subtle and comforting fragrance. I decided blankets for wrapping round myself or mooching under should probably be treated and then I can also be treated to the experience!

My final ‘must do’ job of the day involved dusting off my terracotta sprouter. I’ve got red clover, radish and a ‘health mix’ - not sure what it is but I spotted a few mung beans amongst the seeds. Hopefully the temperature will stay mild enough to get them sprouted. I’ve decided it will be good to produce some vitamin rich fresh food rather than rely on the supermarkets having the good salad stuff in stock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.