A very different Easter Sunday

Wishing all my Blip friends a happy Easter.

I spent the day gardening (read cutting back masses of Ivy and Brambles). I’ve done lots of the hard work but there is still tons to do - lots of established hard, woody root systems in the soil. The weather never broke (rain and thunder was forecast) so I just got incredibly sweaty. At least I’ve felt productive.

Made a very nice dinner which included Lamb steaks. I’ve never had them before but they were very nice indeed considering I’m not a huge fan of lamb (felt like I needed to mark Easter somehow and chicken was running low in my supermarket). All the fat I could see was trimmed off. I didn’t cook them too hard and served them with fine green beans, carrot/potato/ parsnip mash and mint sauce (bit addicted to that tbh). Felt kind of hearty and healthy!

Blip is my midway effort in making new notice I’m putting on the front door. Much more colourful, cheerful and appreciative of postal workers than the last one which just said - ‘Please put any parcels in the box thanks!’

I’ve just finished watching Andrea Bocelli’s live concert which was broadcast live on You Tube from Milan Cathedral - it’s a concert of thanks and only lasted half an hour. He sang a song my Grandmother walked up the aisle to (a favourite piece of hers) when she got married - it made me emotional as I wasn’t expect it.

It was very, very strange watching the short vignettes/ videos they used between and during singing which showed drone footage of well known places such as New York and Venice during lockdown. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve visited St.Mark’s Square, over the years, and I’ve never seen it complete empty in the full sunshine of the day - it felt beautiful and haunting to see at the same time.

Time to light up a meditation joss stick and enjoy a few moments of bird song before I catch up with my folks and brother on a video call.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.