Under The Tree

Shot while taking a walk.  Fabulous weather!  Learning something new -- how to get browner while napping in the garden.  It's a lost art.

Now that I am not crowded over with work or management issues, there has been quite a bit of time to reflect on a couple of things, and there's one thing I realize -- that the present is more important than we've made it out to be.  I'm not talking about the mindfulness bit, although maybe it's part of it, but of the importance of closing many doors back to the past.  Speaking only for myself, there's not much to look back on or save for tomorrow.  People who knew me have moved on, as I have.  They're no longer playing the role they used to play when I knew them, and I'm no longer who I was when they knew me.  There's nothing there that can give me much comfort, everyone has either 'gone away' or I've left them.  There are consequences to everything we do and that happens to us, and they've happened, and we're all changed, and none of what was is coming back.  I'm not telling myself to live in the present (again, mindfulness isn't my point), although that's inevitable.  I've just kind of stepped back and taken the time to survey the 'whole thing' and tried to see it for what it was or has been.  No idea if 'they' see things that way, too, but I have, and the way I'm looking at it now will influence the direction I will take from this point on.  Those things that haven't been resolved aren't always worth the time.  The Art of Leaving Things Behind -- yea, that's a skill worth learning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.