Autumn bonsai

I usually post a shot of the Maidenhair tree bonsai each autumn. It must be really tough as it’s quite old now and seems to cope with extreme temperatures and drought and only lives in a tiny pot. 

We had a yummy roast pork dinner and baked pear dessert during the day as a special Easter treat. After a change in my eating habits to Mediterranean style ( no potatoes gravy etc) since last June it was a rather special feast. Consequently we are not that hungry tonight and some Lindt chocolate will do for tea. 

We haven’t had any new Covid 19 cases here in our town for about 12 days so feeling positive the isolation is working locally. My heart goes out to all those battling this pandemic either as a patient, relative or health worker. All the scenes on TV have bought back memories of hectic days from my nursing career. I don’t know if I would know how to use all the complicated machines these days. My last ICU experience was with newborns so having a big sized person would be a change. For our very sick babies we had a rescue team fly from Sydney, it was always a relief when they arrived as we were a small hospital with few facilities and staff. We had one RN / midwife and an enrolled nurse during a night shift with up to 19 prem babies and suddenly someone would deliver twins to add to the excitement. We were 400kilometres from Sydney and they would send a helicopter which took some time to organise. The sound of the chopper was music to my ears. 

Hope you have all had a nice Easter Day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.