NOT IN A MILLION YEARS

I could have thought that the ducks that I took a picture of when they flew towards me and my breadcrumbs could be the same that I photographed yesterday. A big surprise when I discovered that fact.
I had walked downhill to the Weser with the intention of taking pictures of the icicles around the reed. They were gone already, changed into water and had floated towards Bremen and the sea.
I walked then along the shore and when I pulled out the sack the ducks flew from the other side of the river and the swan couple too. The swans came ashore and walked hissing towards me, please hurry, we are hungry. They however have enough to eat from the bottom really or of the little grass leaves.
In the afternoon Piet Hein and I visited our neighbours to learn the names of all the birds we have seen this winter, eating the seeds and nuts. Eighteen different kinds and we had so much pleasure going through the drawings and pictures in our and their guides. Translation from german to dutch and eventually looking for the english names as well.

My haiku:

The bulfinch I saw
On the branch across the street
Came to lunch later

And the proverb:

What is not wanted is dear at a penny.












Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.