Fair Shares

I like to think more birds survive
through ways and means that I contrive
to make sure blackbirds, robins too,
will get their share of food.

For pecking on the ground below
two pigeons strut and, to and fro,
in search of suet, nuts and seeds,
a sturdy pheasant feeds.

But now I've wedged a handy perch
so smaller birds won't need to search
upon the ground for suet bits,
but in the branches with the tits,
where I have fixed a pot of stuff
so all the birds will have enough.

© Celia Warren 2020


Happy Easter, blipmates!

This morning I took my coffee in the garden and sat and read until I was so hot that I had to come in. But by the time we went for our walk this afternoon, it had become quite hazy with a cool wind. Walking briskly, though, even with short sleeves, we weren't too cold.

Missing family, but we're still having a lovely Easter Day - hope you are, too. And dinner's in the oven smelling good ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.