Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Little

Happy Easter everyone. You've heard of the Easter Bunny. Meet Easter Owl.

For once, the Little Owl didn't scarper back into the barn as soon as I came along the path. But then someone else came along the path so we had to work out some social distancing etiquette and by the time that was resolved, Little Owl had withdrawn again. Still lovely to see though.

It's at moments like this that I regret my better camera being defunct, as it reveals the difference between a 10x and 30x zoom, but it's been that way for several months and I haven't  done anything about it, so I will continue to get by with what I have.

One more new  butterfly for the year for me today: Green-veined White. That's ten days earlier than last year, but to be honest I think the fact that I'm out every day is making a difference - usually I'd only get a decent walk once a week.

Also seen today: one Roe Deer, two Red Kite and the usual. Still no swallows though.

Earlier, I made a (read out) contribution to the big pease pudding discussion on the Radcliffe & Maconie show on 6 music; highlighting that it was pretty much the only vegan sandwich/stottie filling available in Sunderland in the 1990s, although I did always have to say "no ham please."

Butterfly Journal 2020

8. 12/04/20 Green-veined White. Spring Wood, Baildon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.