Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Antlers

My body clock is all over the place. After a disturbed night I ended up waking at 10.00 this morning, which has put me a couple of hours late all day. I'm back to work (at home) tomorrow morning, so I'll see if I can get on a better schedule.

I didn't head out for my walk until about four, by which point the day was probably at its warmest, but still several degrees cooler than it's been recently.  That was enough to send the butterflies back into hiding but there were still birds, mammals and hoverflies and bees to enjoy.

I met with this Roe buck down near the Red Brick Dam, and it paused long enough for me to take this one shot before the inevitable about turn and exit. I don't often notice antlers on Roe deer, but this one had a nice pair.

And in the pond behind the dam, my first ducklings of the year. It seemed a small brood, unless they've been out for a week or two already. I did wonder if it was a Gadwall rather than a Mallard family - there are Gadwall on the pond at the moment - but shooting into the sun doesn't help with the id. I'd welcome any thoughts.

In other news, I have finally overcome inertia to start decorating my bathroom. Looking at the receipt in with the paint, it's taken me three years to get this far. Hopefully the next couple of days will see me conclude the project, which is just a modest paint job.

I hope you've all had as good an Easter weekend as you could have in the circumstances. Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.