Bluebell time

Another gorgeous spring morning. I headed a little further afield for my daily exercise, mostly to avoid walking on hard pavements, which has aggravated my bad knee. For the first hour or so I had the woods completely to myself, and only saw a handful of people altogether. It was stunningly beautiful and so quiet - just the sound of birdsong including my first Willow Warbler of the year. 

The rest of the day was spent at home, photographing a few interesting bugs that had come to the moth trap last night, and finding a couple of new species for the garden on the trunk of our old willow. After lunch we had an Easter egg hunt and managed to find all but one. Sarah and Ben then made a delicious chocolate and orange cake and I prepared a slow-roasted leg of lamb for our evening meal. 

All-in-all it's been a lovely Easter, and not that different from normal as we always tend to avoid travelling because of the crowds and traffic jams. It was a shame not to be able to share our Easter meal with Chris and Lizzy, or to take an Easter cake to Molly, but that's just the way it has to be for the time being.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.