Stirling Moss

Pat and I were saddened to receive the news that Sir Stirling Moss had died at the age of 90.

Pat had first met Stirling at Laguna Seca, California in the 60’s, and we had both watched him race at Knockhill in Scotland. He beat drivers several decades younger than himself to win.

I think many were pleased just to compete against him.

I received an invitation to attend a dinner at the RAC Club in London, where Stirling was to be a guest speaker along with "Mr Bean".

I knew Pat would enjoy this and so we attended the dinner in 2013. The whole evening was a very convivial affair and there was plenty of opportunity to chat with everyone. Stirling was in fine form, and told Pat that he would soon be flying out Laguna Seca.

Today’s Blipfoto is one that I took of Pat and Stirling before dinner.

He was a true Gentleman Knight in company and on the track.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.