Abdul Chowdhury

I have been very sad today because I read in The Times this morning that Doctor Abdul Choudhury died of Coronavirus in Romford hospital a few days ago. I was looking at the faces of all the NHS staff who have succumbed and his smiling image jumped out at me. See extra. He was 53.

He treated me as an outpatient over a couple of years at Homerton University hospital. I was discharged last year - all fine now. He looked after me well and was charming and empathetic. I liked him and we chatted about life . He clearly loved his family and they had spent a brilliant summer holiday exploring the Scottish Highlands. 

He died alone without his family around him.

The people being cut down by Covid 19 are not statistics. Each one had a story and a personality. And the NHS staff on the front line are putting themselves in such scary positions. I shrink back when passing people in the street. The people working in hospitals don't have that option.

Having our daily walk today we strolled by Highams Park lake. I like this bridge which is very photogenic. The cyclist passing over looks like he is enjoying life. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.