Old Roots & New Routes

We'd just finished our after breakfast family Zoom chat when I had a phone call from an old school friend who I haven't spoken to since we last met about 15 years ago: we write to each other every Christmas and always threaten to meet up again but never quite get round to it. We must have chatted for a good half hour, catching up on news and sharing our lockdown experiences.

Last night I phoned my oldest friend and best man and fellow Bromley Boy, Martyn, who we last met up with at Christmas to check how he and his wife were coping and we had a similar long chat. Another consolation of this crisis is that it's reminding us of the importance of our roots, encouraging us to reconnect with people important to us.

I spent the rest of the morning making carrot, ginger and cumin soup with stock from yesterday's gammon and baking beer bread for lunch while Tess was busy in the garden.

After lunch we went for a walk across the fields, taking a footpath we've never walked before where this old tree caught my eye.

Got back in time for another family zoom session.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.