Scrubs

Lockdown day 21
A few days ago a friend asked if I was interested in sewing nurses/care workers scrubs. 
I reluctantly said I’d think about it having not done any sewing for years.
I thought up all sort of reasons why I couldn’t do it, I’m no good at sewing, the neck looked tricky etc etc.
Then I gave myself a good talking to. If hospital workers can spend twelve hour shifts in awful hot sweaty conditions saving lives and putting their own lives at risk, then surely I can sit in a clean quiet house and make a big baggy pair of pyjamas!
There are lots of patterns out there but the one I used is from Sew Me Something a local Stratford company.  I got the PDF version . It was a bit of a nightmare taping 48 pieces of A4 paper together but there is a paper version too, but apparently they are inundated at the moment and have put orders on hold while they catch up. 
This is the top, I didn’t get round to finishing the trousers today due , in part,  to a rather prolonged virtual Zoom Blipmeet! Which was fun. After that it was almost Gin and Tonic time. Well it is a bank holiday.
I know there are talented sewing people out there on Blip so this is the link for Sew Me Something 
https://sewmesomething.co.uk/products/free-unisex-scrubs-pattern
Many others are available.
They’re not ITU standard obviously but nursing homes care homes and other clinics need easily washable kit.

Forgot to say, this fabric was an old duvet cover in a previous life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.