missjatravers

By missjatravers

finally on the wall ... :-)

way back in the day ( 12 years ago) I was studying A level french and chose to study le petit prince by St-Exupery for my spoken exam. even though it was a childrens story I found many an interesting theme running through the plot for how to live your life. .... Some quotes in particular kind of stuck a cord somewhere in my subconscious and got stuck there !
Then many years later when I was running the Liverpool University Photo Societies 1st Exhibition my friend Leila Jalbot appeared this this shot amongst many others. Totally unknown to me she had chosen this quote from the book to highlight her print :
'men have forgotten this truth ' said the fox ' but you must never forget it , you become responsible forever for that which you have tamed'

and all at once the words of the book came back to me, and all at once I realised why it was that I was studying to be a vet, why I wanted to be responsible for all which we have tamed. So thank you Leila , for reminding me, and today on a rare day off I finally got the print you gave me framed and on my wall. Now in these times of extreme uncertainty when I am picking up the pieces of all that I had 2 years ago and putting them all back together, and striving to continue on that chosen path, when so many things have been thrown in my way, I can look at the photo and remind myself it WILL all be worth it one day and everything really does happen for one reason or another, maybe one day I shall fins out what that is !! ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.