AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

More than a button

This exquisite set of enamel buttons and matching belt buckle came from M's mother Avery, who lived in Bangor, Northern Ireland. She died in 2018 and M went over for the funeral and brought back this treasure. At one stage, Avery dealt in antiques and I was always fascinated by the mementos she still had around her.

Note the little brass rings which are for attaching and detaching the buttons for wearing on different frocks. The buckle too can go on any suitable belt. I love the completeness of this set, which we think is from the 1920s, and I'm amazed it has survived. I will keep it safe.

The extra is a collage: one is a close up of one of the buttons which shows the intricate detail of its design; the other is of a button which came from my mother Susie, who died in 2016. Susie was a great seamstress and she used to make me beautiful clothes. This button is one of a few the same which I wore on several outfits, outlived by the buttons. They are decorated with tiny black bugle beads, individually sewn on.

These buttons tell a story about style and craft work of a bygone era. They also give a glimpse into the lives of our two mothers.

Thanks for hosting MaryElizaR. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.