The Big Golden Dog

By Cowlieowlie

Jacket

Today I finished making my tailored jacket. It hasn't got buttons yet, because the Heriot Watt School of Textiles with the amazing button hole machine is closed, and my buttonholes are messy because I don't have the right equipment. They have this fantastic machine that you slot the button and the fabric into, put the right colour thread in, and tell it to go and it sews the whole buttonhole for you exactly the right size for the button. I can't remember whether it slices it for you or whether you have to do that yourself.

For some reason, the lining sleeves came out much longer than the jacket sleeves, so I had to shorten them a lot so I didn't end up with a great massive hem. No particular difficulties were encountered though, which I was glad of!

I took some photos to send to a couple of sewing-y friends, but had to stop because I was getting too hot!

Anyway, whilst I'm thinking about the jacket, that reminds me. In the wardrobe where we keep the jackets, because it's dark, I've been growing some mushrooms! From a kit my granny gave me. They're so cute! All little and button-shaped and just gorgeous! As you can see, I am rather taken by them. This is about the first time I have actually grown something successfully. Mostly, I have 'red fingers' rather than 'green fingers' (green is the opposite of red), and most plants I touch tend to die, especially the herb ones I strip of their leaves for cooking! My mum is the gardening expert. So I feel very pleased not to have killed my mushrooms.... yet. They will go in the cooking at some point, probably in a few weeks.

I'm not sure I did much else apart from jacket making today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.