If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Male House Sparrow (Passer domesticus)

In these days of lockdown you have to blip what you can!  We are fortunate to have a decent sized garden so when it isn't raining (this is Cumbria after all) we can get out without risking coming into the dreaded 2 m of anybody other than ourselves.

While I was out working in the garden this male sparrow was sat on a spout chirping constantly.  I translated the chirps as "Blip me!  Please".  So I had to oblige,

As a boy there were masses of these invading the bird table (along with Starlings).  Our bird feeders may only see a House Sparrow two or three times a week and Starlings 2 or 3 times a year.  I don't know how much the population has crashed since the 50s & 60s but I do know there are less than 1/3 of the Sparrows today that there were in 1976.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.