Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

Finding Rainbow

This photo was taken on our walk on Saturday & sadly, ‘rainbow fish’ (featured in the dungaree pocket) jumped out and went off in search of pastures (or aquatics?) new... It wasn’t until we got home that we discovered the fish was missing and there was something of a meltdown to be had. Of course, in my hasty attempts to reassure my little’un that the fish would be found, I promised to retrace our exact steps on that walk at the first available opportunity...

It was no surprise then, that high on our list of priorities yesterday was to go and find rainbow. I have to hand it to her, my young’un was thorough in her search; systematically scanning the ground & even extending her search into the trees, at points because “some fish can fly, you know”.

We didn’t find the fish but what we did find was a refreshing approach to acceptance and loss, as felt by a 5 year old. We discussed our hopes for rainbow as he proceeds towards his onward journey & I said I hoped he would join the frog chorus & dance on unicorn dust in the sky. My daughter said that she hopes he gets to eat lots of tadpoles and goes to the lake to swim in goose poo.

I’m also admiring her capacity for realism...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.