Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

On Top of the World

I ran up Catbells for an Easter Sunday jog out today. I love this fell for its sharp, yet very satisfying steep ascent & the fun scramble as you reach the summit.

On the trig of the summit is the Wainwright inscription: “scenes of great beauty unfold on each side and they are scenes in depth to a degree not usual”. Thank you Mr Wainwright, I couldn’t have put it better myself; the views are an absolute joyous pleasure.

I took my time today, not bothering about pacing & took lots of pictures on the way. When I got to the top, I phoned my children then I laid down and listened to The Easter Hymn from Pietro Mascagni’s opera, Cavalleria Rusticana. It was a most sublime and ethereal few minutes and I felt so very lucky to be fit and well.

Stay strong, stay safe and Happy Easter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.