The wonderful wisteria chinensis

I noticed the small wisteria buds beginning to unfurl a few days ago. Today the warmth seems to have brought the first of the buds into full on blooming mode. There are lots of them and the initial flowers seem to be the ones at the end of the climbing stems.

I bought this plant many years ago to grow around the cabin we built on the patio. It has been a very good and reliable 'performer', growing well, reacting to being pruned and flowering every year. I love it. I fear however that my pruning last year was a bit lax as there are now too many shoots. I'll have to wait until the flowering has finished, and not being an expert gardener, I fear it may be the wrong time to cut it back, but it needs to be done. I wish someone could prune back the stupid American president, if not remove 'it' from the world's garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.