atoll

By atoll

Detectorist

One of the side benefits of yesterdays Tools Out garage and basement tidy was the serendipitous discovery of this very old door knob and latch. It was taken off our original bedroom door about 25 or more years ago by me in lieu of a new replacement with lock and key. The old one from our rather delapidated but well-loved old house was set aside for a rainy day. Unsurprisingly, it was subsequently lost amongst all my other ‘hoarding’ paraphernalia. Gone forever I thought, until yesterdays happy chance discovery.

Stripping off goodness knows how many years worth of paint with Nitromors today has now freed up all its lovely detail: Simple but beautiful ‘blacksmithed’ steel crafted with brass detailing - including a neat little ‘spring’ to load the latch.

Competing with my total love of the ‘Detectorists’, my other favourite TV programme is showing on BBC1 tonight. Called Repair Shop, if you don’t know of it yet, please check it out on iPlayer if you can. Meantime, whilst my contribution to artisan repair is nowhere near that teams league, it is always really satisfying to repurpose something so loved, lost and found.

Jay’s days of barging-in unanounced into my and MrsB’s bedroom are now long gone. No need for a lock and key anymore in our open house - so it is going back from where it came.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.