Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

NOT a Goldfinch!

However, I can just about guarantee that you are going to see at least as many photos of this bird from me as you've seen of goldfinches.  Unless something really puts them off, I am fairly confident that this male and his mate will raise their spring brood here in the nest box in my patio garden.  It is a box that is very easy to view from the kitchen, or from the hide on the patio.  And I'm here to warn you - I can't get enough of blue...   If you didn't know, this is an Eastern Bluebird and he is perched about 8 feet from "his" nest box, keeping an eye on it. 

Other than some photos, I have very little to show for my day.  I watched the Cuomo news briefing and part of Murphy's.  Enough to make me feel safe in the knowledge that it won't be some crazed buffoon making decisions about when our respective states start to "re-open".  And that is enough said on that topic.

I also accidentally butt-dialed my parents so we got to have a quick impromptu chat.  Oh, and I scored 20 disposable masks (ironically made in the Wuhan Province of China).  I had called a friend to check in and he said his wife had just found masks at their local hardware store.  They offered to pick up and deliver a package of masks to me which I gratefully accepted.  The masks were ridiculously overpriced, of course, but I've got them and that's what matters.

We are going to have chilly temps the next few days with both frost and freeze warnings the next two nights.  Still, I am committed to getting out for a walk tomorrow even if it is just up and down the Lane (which is about a mile with a doozy of a hill).  

Charlie entertained me this morning with a rousing game of "chase the tail".  I recorded it on my phone and will get around to posting it on youtube at which point I will share a link.  It's really quite hilarious to see him in hot pursuit of his own tail. Daft cat.

That's it for me today.

xo
Debbi

Covid19 stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1 PM today - 71,030
Deaths in NJ -  3,165
Positive cases in Sussex County - 551- 41 deaths

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.