Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

S is for Sweet Sixteen

The 16th bird on my visual yard record for the year, the delicious Purple Finch.  And you can see his mate in Extra.  Yesterday morning there were 6 males and 2 females in the cherry tree but I was unable to get photos since I was in a rush to get up to the refuge to meet my friends.  Today, a little time in the hide got me several shots I'm quite pleased with.  

These birds look very similar to our House Finches but are usually only seen here during spring and fall migration.  Come to think of it, I don't think they've ever been here when our cherry trees have been in bloom as I don't think I have any shots like this.  Anyway, a delight to see them.

S is also for Super Good News - I have a new date for my surgery!  I'm on the schedule for April 26 sometime in the morning. Time will be confirmed Friday before surgery.  That's only about 10 days away, so I'm happy with that and am committed to keeping myself busy until then.  I'll have to get a Covid test sometime late next week (even though I am fully vaxed, testing is still required for surgical procedures.)  No big deal.  

I am also very pleased to announce that our property is going to be the sight of a Screech Owl release, probably next week.  One of the women I walk with runs the avian rehabilitation center here in the county and she has two screech owls that are going to be ready for release soon  (only one at our place).  Hubs and I are going to build two owl nest boxes and put them up in two different areas of our woods this weekend in the hopes that one of them will appeal to the owl and encourage it to stay.  Screech Owls are tiny, only 6 to about 9 inches and weighing less than a pound.  About the size of a starling.  They are strictly nocturnal so are more often heard than seen.  Stay tuned.  

So, all things considered, it's been a good day.  More rain forecast for tomorrow but I have the hide set up, so that's fine with me.  And, I have a backlog of paperwork that needs to be attended to as well.

Thank you for your continuing support and all the positive words,  prayers, juju and energy you're sending my way.  Not to mention the chocolate recommendations.  Blip has always been this extraordinary community - kind, non-judgmental, supportive.  Really very special.

Stay safe, stay kind.  Dark with some sea salt today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.