Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 17

Adding to my visual yard bird record for this year with a close up of the lovely female red winged blackbird.  She is visibly smaller than the male of the species and is frequently mistaken for "some sort of sparrow".  I'm not the only one, however, who finds her really beautiful when viewed in detail.  In addition to the colorful orange markings around her face, she also has some orange along her wings.  But when she heads into the reeds (which is where she'll nest) she just disappears.  Which is good since her nest is usually very close to the water/ground.

It has been a productive day.  I ventured to the gym for a weight workout which I enjoyed very much (almost no one there - 11 AM is definitely the time to go).  Hubs and I also got the lumber we need for the owl boxes and added drive through Starbucks to the trip.  And I got the call from the hospital to go over all my information and schedule my covid test.  So a lot accomplished.  

After all of that, I retreated to the hide for about an hour and lost myself in photography and nature..  As I sit here in my second floor work space, there is a little downy woodpecker about 3 feet away, working on a feeder that I have mounted to the window.  He's busy tapping away, getting seeds from the feeder.  I know he can see me, but he doesn't seem particularly concerned.  

Zoom cocktails with my besties this evening - always a nice way to kick off the weekend.  And 10 days...

Stay safe, continue being excellent and kind.  I'm liking a dark chocolate handmade truffle today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.