KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Cooler Today

I went for a great walk this morning - the weather was cool and overcast, what we call a marine layer here. It cleared up by early afternoon, so after some work at my desk I went out to the garden and spent the rest of the afternoon puttering around, mainly tidying up my potting shed. The result makes me so happy...everything put away, extraneous stuff taken away (hah only to the garage since it can't go anywhere else right now!), and swept. It looks fabulous! I should have taken a picture of it! 

But this beautiful dogwood flower is prettier than the potting shed. They're just beginning to bloom in my neighborhood, especially the pink ones. This is Cornus florida whereas I have a Cornus kousa in my garden which blooms in June. We have a couple of other Cornus varieties here - a native Cornus nuttallii which one finds primarily in the understory of the forest which has probably already bloomed, and a couple of hybrids 'Eddie's White Wonder' and the 'Stellar' series that bloom right after C. florida. These gorgeous trees typically flourish in western Oregon and it's quite a treat to watch the progression of blooms.

Thank you so much for the lovely comments and starts on my Osteospermum blip from yesterday! 

Be well dear Blippers! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.