I seem to have settled on a favourite local walk, just under six miles, lots of grassy fields, a bit of woodland, two ploughed fields, horses, sheep and a bit of road. I'd just taken this photo, which shows where I'm headed - see the field of rape? - when a red kite took to the air quite near me and was immediately mobbed by two lapwings. Kites are huge!

Two cups of coffee in the sun drifted into lunch, and then a video call with my son :-) and then it was out into the garden.

I cut the lawn, then used some of the old compost to try and level the dips in it. Then into the front garden to lift the six half slabs which were bordering the drive, but which look a mess, and I've put four of them under the front window for the time being. The hydrangea was pruned, the dead lavender dug up, the daffodils dead-headed, the dandelions dealt with and I discovered a tiny cotoneaster and a lovely snake's head fritillary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.