antiqued

After spending the morning drinking coffee, making breakfast tacos, and doing laundry, I braved the Stock Show mayhem to hop up to the huge antique mall. I needed to pick up some things for a photo project I'm doing this weekend--I am designing the poster for the English graduate student conference in April and required a few old items. While I was there, I also found typewriter number six (I'm sure that will be a Blip someday in the near future).

I wish we had a house. I saw some very nice mid-century modern furniture, and at a reasonable price, as well as some great wall art, old radios and telephones. I have such a soft spot for the 50s and 60s American modern. And I also saw this identical Yashica 635, though in much better condition than this one, and with the original leather case for the same price as this eBay link. I would love to get into medium format but I don't really have the time or the money right now for another expensive hobby. We still have one place left in town that develops the 120 locally and it's a pretty penny. Getting my 35mm developed there is costly enough. But what a beautiful machine it was, there in the case, shimmering.

Well, back home now. Going to keep reading and making headway on the perpetual school stack. I have to say, though, that this has been a wonderful Blip week. I can't remember the last time I have had seven or eight Blips in a row that I was really happy with in terms of composition, subject matter, etc. On a roll, I guess. For what that's worth.

+

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.