movableparts

By MovableParts

Leaping lizards!

The roadrunner and the horned lizard (aka horny toad): iconic creatures throughout New Mexico.  Saw this sculpture in the Pueblo Mantanyo Picnic Area while cycling which reminded me of a...

Sad but interesting story:
On a hike through the desert a few years ago we were almost to the top of the mesa when we saw quite a sight!  A horned lizard had leapt off a rocky ledge and landed impaled on a prickly pear spike (see extra). The poor, poor thing.

It was just like in the movies where a human will fall on a sword (Henry V) or wrought iron fence (horror flick), only this was real life.  It made quite the scene. I quickly set about with my camera recording this once-in-a-lifetime image.  I took many photographs, hoping for a  decent close-up. Glen and I joked about making posters with the caption, "Leaping Lizards!"

When I finished photographing from several angles, I put away my camera, yet felt compelled to touch the toad's back to see how dried out it felt.  Wanting to avoid a puncture wound myself, I cautiously moved my index finger closer. When I finally, softly touched its body, the horned lizard flinched!   I screamed, my hand jerked backward and I was immediately filled with horror and remorse. I had been taking photos, making jokes, and all the while I could have been acting to save its life!

We quickly and gently moved the toad off the cactus spine. I placed the lizard belly up in my hand while Glen poured some water over its bloody shoulder.  Lizard moved; I could detect a heartbeat, it's chest pulsating.  I found a shaded, protective ledge and placed the lizard down on its belly.  We set beside him some peeled prickly pear and some pieces of our own home-picked pear.  We gave the lizard/toad a final cleansing with water, spoke some words of encouragement and gratitude, and hoped for the best.  Look before you leap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.