Cairngorms from a train.

Leaving the easy lifestyle I had in the Highlands was hard, and Mither was sad to see me go, too, saying it had been nice to "have others adults in the house that are nice".

For a while I had inhabited an area of no more than 20m squared, apart from when I went for a walk. I always had wine and food in reach and my sole job was to keep the fire going all day. It was safe and isolated and I was content.

Wrenching me from this little bubble, however, was the train that whisked me through the expanses of snow in the Cairngorms. It was tranquil and wild- I wasn't ready to go back down south yet and as I got off at Waverley I was overwhelmed by the number of humans walking hurriedly down the platform. I wasn't used to this. I hadn't been in a group of more than four people for almost two weeks.

But I joined them and walked as briskly as I could with my three heavy bags. Half way down the platform, though, I remembered about the ticket gates - I had forgotten about them, but I couldn't stop now lest the person behind me come crashing into my rucksack. So I had to carry on trying to slow the massess as I fumbled for my wallet which was miles away in my backpocket. The crowd didn't relent and the humans squeezed and streamed past me, bashing me hither and tither.

I need to acclimatise. I am no longer alone.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.